Doomsday For Crappy Foods

Today marked the start of my “Doomsday for Crappy Foods Detox”.

Ever since the fiance and I went on vacation over Memorial Day we have been ingesting nothing but what I like to call Frankenfoods. Frankenfoods are foods that consist of more chemicals than they do actual nutritious stuff. You know, the food we all love and that fills us with absolute joy and happiness? Yep, those foods. Fast Food, Restaurant Food, Pizza, French Fries, Potato Chips, Cookies, Donuts, Bread, etc. are all Frankenfoods. Of course, we all know that eating a ton of crappy food all day everyday is going to “Super Size” your body and give you a plethora of medical conditions to worry about… yet, as a society, that does nothing to stop us from gorging ourselves over drinks with friends. Oh! And drinks? Let’s not get started even talking about the deliciousness that is Soda, Beer, Liquor, etc. Unfortunately these Frankenfoods aren’t only hiding at restaurants and in the middle aisles of your grocery store… they are also hiding amongst the so-called Low Fat/Low Calorie foods! So what on earth is someone to do?!

I’ve heard about Clean Eating for years now. It’s never been something I’ve tried, though I can certainly see how the benefits would be enormous. It only makes sense… our bodies, before all of these chemicals started being pumped into them via food, medicine, etc, were meant to survive on the environment around us. As wonderful as it all sounds though, this blog is not about how I’m drastically, cold turkey switching to clean eating. Nope, I’m not that adventurous just yet. What this “Doomsday for Crappy Foods Detox” is about however is some simple steps I’ve decided to take to try and jumpstart my way into a healthier eating style. In all honesty, I’m doing it because I have a doctors appointment and bloodwork looming ahead of me and I don’t want the doctor to see that I’ve done nothing to improve myself in the last 3 months. I’m also doing it because I’m the heaviest I’ve ever been in my entire 34 years of life and I don’t even know what I weigh… I just know I’m quite a bit over what the docs think I should be. (I don’t really agree with medical standards on weight… but, I digress on that topic.) And lastly, I’m doing it because darn it, I just need to.

So I’ve devised an eating plan that I think I can stick to. It is not completely “Clean” but it is light years ahead of where I am now on the “healthy” Richter Scale. It certainly won’t be easy as I’m accustomed to filling my belly with delicious bready products and a bucket of Coca-Cola on a near daily basis, but we will see what happens. I’m sure that I’ll be “doing it wrong” (aren’t we all “doing it wrong” according to someone else’s opinion?)… but at least I’ll be “doing”, so please no emails about my follies.

Below is a list of what my day to day will be like. The list likely will be the same everyday, so my next updates will be very short or even not at all until I’ve completed the week. Follow along with me if you’d like, or don’t, this is really just to keep me honest 🙂

“Doomsday For Crappy Foods Detox” Day 1:

7:30 a.m. Breakfast:
Blueberries, Strawberries and Blackberries mixed into 1 serving of vanilla yogurt (the style of yogurt I got was 1 cup per serving).
1 Bottle of Water
1 Banana

10:30 a.m. Snacklet:
1 serving of mixed nuts
(if you are following along, WATCH YOUR SERVING SIZE! Nuts are great for protein, but also can be super fatty. Which is what we are trying not to be!)

12:30 p.m. Lunch Time:
Spicy Veggie Soup
(Formerly known as Chicken Tortilla Soup… I omitted the chicken and the tortillas because I’m a rock star! This soup is absolutely delish and FILLED to the gills with veggies. I don’t have a clue on calories or fat, because I’m not watching those things this week, but if you want to check it out here’s the link: http://alishagratehouse.com/chicken-tortilla-soup-crockpot-recipe/ . My fiance claims it smells horrific when cooking… so delicate noses beware! Also, I should have added more than one fresh jalapeno… but I was a chicken. Next time!)
1 small nectarine
1 small apple
1 bottle of water

3:00 p.m. Snacklet:
1 serving of mixed nuts

6:30 p.m. Dinner Time:
Bacon Peppercorn Rotisserie Chicken (skin removed)
Steamed Garlic Cauliflower (I bought frozen, should have opted for fresh)
Raw Carrots
1 glass of Apple Juice

10:00 p.m. Snacklet:
1 serving of Skinny Pop Popcorn (If you haven’t tried this stuff, please RUN do not walk [think of all the calories you’ll burn running!] to your nearest store and buy some. Heaven in a bag… AND all natural!)

The rest of this week’s menu will be much the same with the exception of possibly cottage cheese instead of yogurt, and the inclusion of some scrambled eggs. Dinners are going to be difficult, but we have plenty of chicken breasts in the freezer and salads [minimal dressing] are always good in a pinch.

On to the next I say! And enjoy these little words of wisdom below! Thanks Oatmeal!

10436318_10154310044300078_4351525822671767594_n

Leave a Reply

